It’s Elemental

I had the priviledge of attending a workshop with a noted bronze artist Osprey Orielle Lake. (www.ospreyoriellelake.com)  Osprey has taken her creative talents and merged them with social and political justice projects.  The two in particular she shared with us during the week are her “peace project” art and the “water” project.  She has found a way to give voice to her creative talents and her beliefs and values simultaneously.  She’s a great role model for those of us who are artists and believe we have a distinct and unique message for the world.

This experience had a profound impact on me because I too believe that I have a message for the world that I feel must be shared through my visual art.  It has been a journey, a pilgrimage if you will, to get to this point in my artistic voice.  I had to abandon making “the pretty”  to make the meaningful, not that the two are mutually exclusive, but “the pretty” isn’t my goal.  My goal is the message.  As I create the body of work on health and healing I’m more convinced that it’s the ultimate form of storytelling.  As I glance at the work I am creating bigger stories for both the art and its meaning.  I’m able to feel rooted in the process and committed to finishing the story.

Our week long journey focused on the elements; fire, earth, water, and air/sky.  The great thing about us as artists is that we can take any experience, internalize it, and have it become part of our being.  We can create new stories that have personal meaning.  We’re able to weed out the unimportant and focus on the physical, emotional, and spiritual aspects of how nature/the elements impact our own story.  How do the elements show up in your art?  When are you most present to nature’s experience and how do you use that presence?

I’d love to hear some of your experiences as we all move forward in our journey.

Leave a Reply

