Day One: Embarcation

Today starts my 40 day journey with a piece of cloth, my hands, my heart, and my soul.  I chose the thread, sat down, said a prayer, and began listening to Gregorian Chant.  As I began to stitch I needed to set my intention for this pilgrimage.  The only thing that stands out in the moment is that I can’t have a destination in mind, wandering has to be acceptable. 

I don’t know how long it will take me to stitch this piece, but over the next 40 days I’m sure I’ll stick myself with the needle enough times to build up resilience, and open myself to the lessons I’m meant to learn.  I wanted to think that the outlines on the fabric were a roadmap preparing me for a journey with a specific outcome, but as I began I realized that I can’t predict the stitch, I can’t predict how long it will take to complete the work, or if it will ever be completed.

I’m allowing myself to stitch without meaning, to allow my hands to feel the cloth and the needle pricks, which usually occur when my mind starts to wander away from the cloth.  I’m connected by a sacred thread to this work and I am committed to the unknown, not an easy thing for me to accept or admit.  What I do know is that tomorrow is another day and my prayer cloth awaits!

Blessings to you…

Leave a Reply

