Winter Feast for the Soul

I was on Facebook last week and noticed a friend of mine from school (Wisdom University, www.wisdomuniversity.org) had signed up for the Winter Feast for the Soul.  Obviously the name alone caught my attention so I decided to follow the link and see what journey my friend was sharing with me.  I found that the Winter Feast for the Soul, www.winterfeastforthesoul.com, is people around the world engaging in 40 minutes of spiritual practice for 40 days.  It started today.

Leading up to today I was wondering what practice I would engage in that would connect me more deeply to my breath and my wish for inner peace and understanding.  I knew it had to be something related to my art so I searched through my studio and have brainstormed ideas for the start of this 40 day pilgrimage.  Last night I had decided to take small pieces of blank cloth and stitch on them with no pattern, no destination, and no desired outcome. 

This morning when I walked in my studio I saw this piece of cloth that I had traced a design on over six  months ago, just sitting there.  I made the decision, in that moment, to take that cloth and my embroidery floss and together they would create the map for my spiritual journey for the next forty days.  I hope you’ll follow me and ask yourself how your art fills any spiritual void you may be experiencing in these trying times.

Blessings to you…

Leave a Reply

