Winter Feast for the Soul: Day 11

There are only twenty-four hours in a day, or so I’m told.  I often wonder if the parallel universe has more hours in its day, if so I’d like to switch over.  I have so many things I want to do and I need to do that the question of priority pops up and rears its head.  What are my priorities?  How do I know it’s a priority?  What if it’s not currently a priority and I want it to be?

I usually engage in my spiritual practice in the morning.  Today was the exception.  There was too much going on and I needed to be a bit flexible with my schedule.  The truth is I could have easily said, about the Winter Feast for the Soul, I’ve done ten days without a break one day won’t kill me.  It may not kill me physically but it will break my momentum and that’s key to continuing on the journey.

It’s true that the lessons we need to learn are often presented to us without a neon sign saying, “Hey you…here’s the lesson!”  Today as I was leaving the locker room at the gym I heard part of a conversation between two men who obviously, by their physiques enjoy going to the gym. 

The one guy turned to the other and said, “When I was married and caring for a family I didn’t have time to go to the gym.”  I just kept walking, but the message was clear about what his priorities are and thus came the question, “What’s a priority to me?” 

My actions this afternoon made it abundantly clear.  Even though I’m sleep deprived today (was up in the middle of the night not feeling well) and wanting desperately to take a nap; I chose to engage in my practice.  As I wrote this entry I feel alert and alive.  I feel grounded so any light-headedness both figuratively and literally seem absent.

I want to thank the guy at the gym for getting me to ask this all important question.  Who knows who I’ll meet tomorrow who will have that day’s all important question.

Blessings to you…

Leave a Reply

