Winter Feast for the Soul: Day 14

They say it takes 32 days to create a habit so it’s interesting that the Winter Feast for the Soul is a 40 day journey.  I imagine the hope is that if you engage in 40 minutes of practice for 40 days that you’ll continue on this path.  If that’s the case, then what would begin to happen in people’s lives and the world if everyone began and committed to a spiritual practice?  What lessons are to be learned and what experiences are to be had?

I’m wondering about this because I’m a big fan of Cheri Huber’s book, How You Do Anything, Is How You Do Everything.  If that’s the case, then my next question or observations revolves around the idea that being engaged in a spiritual practice is generalizable to other areas of my life.  If I’m inclined to commit to a spiritual practice then I’m more likely to adhere to a plan to eat healthier.  If I engage in a committed spiritual practice then I’m more likely to stick with my commitment to go to the gym to improve my health, stamina, and wellness.

How will I know if I’ve created a new habit?  Life always gets in the way and I’ve made too many excuses for too many things over the years.  I used to think it was boredom that diverted my attention, but I’m wondering if it was/is something bigger; boredom seems a bit too simple.  This leads me to a new level of curiosity about committing to this practice. 

I know one thing and that is each of the fourteen days I’ve been engaged with the Winter Feast for the Soul, I have walked into my studio where I do my practice with an agenda.  I’m amused because I’ve had two conversations this week about abandoning agenda’s and yet I’m still stuck with one.  Fortunately, I’m not married to the agenda and each of the fourteen days I’ve spoken about what speaks to me, not what I had on my notepad to write about…that’s a relief.

I guess for now I’ll just continue and see if one area of my life can be generalized to another…one can only pray that it is so.

Blessings to you…

Leave a comment