Winter Feast for the Soul: Day Twenty-Three

Wouldn’t it be nice if everything we wanted went according to plan?  I’ve always believed that balance is the natural order of the world, but now I’m wondering if balance can actually take many forms.  How do I perceive balance, and what if things are off-balance?

This is an interesting question for me because as an artist you’re taught that asymmetry is more appealing to the eye?  Why would that be so, don’t you think that symmetry, evenness, and uniformity would be more comfortable?  That’s why when placing things in home decor like accessories, or tinges of color throughout an art piece they recommend doing it in odd numbers.

I fell into that trap today but the piece I’m working on had other ideas.  I began adding new elements to the art and I wanted to create symmetry.  The interesting thing is that the design of the piece is in and of itself asymmetrical.  No matter how many circles I placed on the left side and put the same number of circles on the right side there was no way for the piece to be even because the center wasn’t in the middle.  Think about that, the center is not in the middle.

What if my center, the place where I feel grounded is not in the center?  Could this be the fallacy that has limited my beliefs?  Do I really fall on one side of an issue more than staying a centrist?  I desperately wanted the piece to be symmetrical, but the Universe decided I needed to be a bit skewed.  I believe that’s my center, my natural place of being, my place of balance.

All things being equal (pardon the pun), finding my sense of balance is what keeps me balanced.  My physical being isn’t balanced.  I know that I lean more to one side of my body.  I have one foot that is slightly larger than the other and yet I stay balanced on my feet.

Balance is subjective, just like life.

Blessings to you…

Leave a Reply

