Winter Feast for the Soul: Day Twenty-Seven

Who says I’m not quick on the draw?  I guess that would be me.  There are times when I know something and still don’t get it.  I can understand something but I forget or I get so caught up in my own stuff that it is like trying to think at a rock concert.  Today is one of those days.

I walked in to my practice period with the best of intentions to stay focused on the actual practice.  As we all know life tries to insert its authority and this is one of those times.  I got an e-mail last night that I found at first disturbing and then the more I thought about it, it simply became annoying.  What I found during my practice period is that I was carrying this annoyance and some anger in the studio, my sanctuary.

So what happened to get my attention?  When you hand quilt you keep one hand under the cloth to know when the needle pokes through.  It shouldn’t be a surprise that I indeed did feel the needle poke through and then I proceeded to sew my finer to the back of the cloth.  Fortunately that situation is easily rectified (didn’t even draw blood). 

I continued along with the stitching and was still obsessing about the e-mail.  The next thing I knew I had a knot in the thread that made me stop, cut the thread because I couldn’t undo the knot.  Fortunately I had enough thread left to tie off the end and start with a new piece of thread.  You would think by now I would have gotten the message that I needed to focus on what was directly in front of me (yes I know the e-mail was not directly in front of me).

We’ve all heard the expression, “Three times a charm”.  Well it took three tries for me to leave the e-mail outside the room.  I stuck myself quiet heartily with the needle and that “OUCH” got my attention.  Fortunately I still had at least ten minutes left in my practice period so I could get back to the matter at hand…spirit.

I may not be a quick study, but when I get the message I get it!  Today was one of those days when I needed more than one reminder.  So what will I need more than one reminder about the rest of the day?   I guess I’ll see how many figurative pokes with the needle I’ll get and then I’ll know.

Blessings to you…

Leave a Reply

