Winter Feast for the Soul: Day Thirty-Two

It’s an amazing thing to practice with creative style.  I’m constantly in awe of the process because the interpretations that arise are incredible to see and to experience.  Every moment of the process is like unlocking a secret that’s been hidden for years.

Today I had the opportunity to engage in my spiritual practice in a room with others.  It’s like parallel play with children; each person engaged in their own practice but doing their own work and no intersection, discussion, or collaboration.  The synergy that transpires is energetic and even a bit frightful.  That much creative energy in one space with people all following a spiritual path can whip up some powerful spiritual tsunamis.

I did further my declaration that I am not a sit and meditate kind of guy.  I had two sessions of chi gung today and I thought I was going to go mad.  There is something about the kinesthetic experience of my practice that is grounding, more real for me, and able to create a focused and expanding environment.

I’m not sure how all those monks sit for hours at a time when they good be knitting or something.  I use to strive for that type of quiet, contemplative practice, but I haven’t reached that point in my life or my sacred practice and I don’t know if I would want to engage in that type of practice.

I find that I have more integration of my senses when I engage in stitching as  a spiritual practice and I’m pretty sure that integration that leads to an elevation of consciousness is the key.

Blessings to you…

Leave a Reply

