Winter Feast for the Soul: Day Thirty-Three

Distance is in my consciousness.  I’m not sure why the African proverb, “If you want to go fast go it alone, if you want to go far go with others”, kept popping up during my practice period.  It’s interesting for me because on this journey going it alone means that I will go far.  It’s not about speed in any way because my hope and my intention that these pieces I stitch take a long time to create and to experience.  I’m marveling at the process as well as they concentration, focus, and clarity that comes with doing this solo practice with no set time frame for completion.

I’m puzzled why speed of achieving a goal would take precedence over intentional action.  I’m  wondering why the actual physical energy of creating the stitched work isn’t sufficient in this day and age?  Have we become so anchored to the belief that the more you create the better it is?  If you’re doing piece-work for a garment manufacturer in a third-world country that may be the case, but not when engaged in a spiritual practice.

I’m not even looking for proficiency.  I’m looking for the outcome and the lingering impact of commitment on  my life in general.  I don’t want this to be a fly-by-night experience because I’m benefitting from the commitment.  This isn’t a test of wills, but a soul vow to lead my life in a different way.  What that life will look like over time I don’t know but I’m willing to find out.

Blessings to you…

Leave a Reply

