Winter Feast for the Soul: Day Thirty-Seven

They say you can’t take it with you.  I know that statement is about taking money into the after life, but I would say there are plenty of things you can take with you…into life.  One of the key ingredients to my practice is the flexibility in having a piece that travels.  It’s that portability that enables me to engage in my practice no matter where I am around the globe.

By having a practice that is portable is allows for consistency.  I don’t have to worry about interrupting my practice periods because I’m out-of-town.  I realize people who meditate for a practice have the same opportunity, because their practice resides within them.  I believe that consistency is important because it creates a rhythm in my daily life as well as in my soul.  It’s like creating music in life with the rhythm of the stitch.

The opportunity to transport my stitching cloth means that I can keep this cloth which is important to me, near and dear to my heart (both figuratively and literally).  So what does all this boil down to?  It creates a practice in which every place, every day and every action is sacred.  Can you think of anything better than that?

Blessings to you…

Leave a Reply

