Energy and Flow

I decided that I really wanted to knit for my meditation this evening. It was sitting on my bed and calling me to keep working on the shawl I’ve been working on for a few weeks. I may want to finish this project as I bought yarn yesterday for what will be coming next, but one thing at a time. I’ve done this pattern before and it’s easy to memorize so I can just keep knitting. It’s definitely one of those times when I’m in the zone and can keep going without having to refer to the pattern.

I finished one row and as I began to stitch the second row I noticed that my hands felt warm. Continuing along the second row and then the third; it wasn’t my imagination, my hands were heating up. I finished a couple more rows, put the needles down and my hands are not just warm, they’re hot

For some reason I decided not to play the Gregorian chant music I often have in the background when I meditate. Tonight, it was just the needles, the yarn, and me. We worked in unison and the flow opened up my energy gates allowing for the energy to course through my veins heating my hands.

I’ve been quilting for over twenty years and knitting for more than five and I don’t think I’ve ever noticed this specific phenomenon. I’m used to feeling more present when I’m engaged in my art/craft, but this was different. It was as if the motion, the rhythm, and the intention came together and created a vortex or a surge or energy. It was a new experience and something I’m going to pay attention to much more as I move forward in the meditation process.

One more reason to continue on the pilgrimage of the “Winter Feast for the Soul”.

Leave a Reply

