Connecting the Dots

I’m back to the cloth for my meditation. I picked up the piece I’m working on measuring 18”x21”. I’ve been hand stitching the piece thus far, but tonight decided to engage in some fabric painting. Last week on my day off I bought some metallic burnt orange paint to use on my granny smith apple colored piece of cloth. There is a pattern printed on the fabric, a batik that is tone on tone.

Since I’m on the road I don’t have all my regular tools so to make dots on the fabric I’m using an old trick I learned from a fellow quilter, use the eraser from a standard pencil as the stamp. It’s a great alternative to an actual stamp. The eraser is the right size; it cleans up quickly, and makes perfect little dots when dipped in paint.

I began making my dots thinking that I would create a random pattern with the dots. I started marking the fabric making each dot I placed on the fabric intentional.   I was determined not to have any stray, unwanted dots on my work of art. I dotted my way across the fabric feeling rather playful making paint dots all over the fabric.

I finished my dots, believing they were random, and stood back to look at the piece. I decided that I needed some more dots because it was looking incomplete. Silly me, the fact that it felt incomplete wasn’t a bad thing; in fact feeling a bit uncomfortable often makes me think outside the box. Instead, I decided to add dots and what I found is I had a need to connect the dots. Leaving intentional empty space wasn’t going to work this evening. I didn’t put dots all over the fabric, but I felt a pull to have a dot-covered piece of cloth. Fortunately I have some level of restraint, no matter how miniscule that may be, and left plenty of open space for further embellishment.

Do we have a natural desire, need, program that makes us want things to be whole? Are we driven to have completion? Why did I feel a pull to connect the dots? I know we yearn for wholeness, but isn’t it possible that the sense of incompleteness makes us continue on our journey? Are you more likely to set out on a new quest every time you complete something or are you better off continuing beyond the point of what you believe is the end of the road and journey into unchartered territory?

This is why I love utilizing art for meditation, because it gets me thinking about how my art represents my life and that of the collective consciousness. Try it and let me know what questions art as meditation answers or raises for you.

Leave a Reply

