Winter Feast for the Soul 2017: Day 10 Sounds of Silence

I don’t meditate in the still of the quiet. I usually play some type of meditation music in the background, most often Gregorian Chant. I like the rhythm, the simplicity, and the melodic cadence that is trance-like.

I’ve been trying to stay away from television. I can’t take the overstimulation of the news and the crazy banter about how we’re headed off the cliff. I figure that when I need to learn to “duck and cover”, someone will give me a crash course on Armageddon. Until then, I’ve decided to restrict the negative vibrations in the media and politics and focus on how I can personally and in my community create healing spaces.

Prepping my meditation space, I decided not to play my regular music. Instead, I decided I would sit in silence and see what arises. I began the meditation and first thing I noticed was the clarity of the sounds in my environment. I was able to hear the sound of the scissors cutting the fabric, the interface paper falling away from the fabric and falling on the counter, and the hum of the over as it preheats.

Once I had my first round of sounds that were in my immediate environment, I decided to focus on my breathing and see what other sounds would appear. I began to hear the footsteps of the cats as they descended the stairs. The quiet actually allowed the accuracy of cutting the fabric to become more precise. I was focused and I felt myself smile.

I was experiencing an essence of peace and that feeling was amazing. It wasn’t about being relaxed, I felt grounded. The silence was not my foe it was my friend. It was partnering with me as I navigated the act of fussy cutting fabric. It made the time fly by and the act of cutting fabric a blessing instead of a curse.

I’ll do more days with silence, but intermingled with the chant I find emotionally and spiritually invigorating. Try it both ways and let me know what you think!!

Leave a Reply

