Winter Feast for the Soul 2017: Day 17 Audition

If you know me you know that I can be a bit impulsive. If you combine that with my tendency toward being stubborn you’d begin to get a clearer picture of who I am. There are times that I’m overly sure of myself and that puts me in a funny position because it forces me to hold my ground even if in private I may have doubts.

I’ve been working on my meditation quilt for the past sixteen days as I’ve discussed in previous posts. Since I began I had an idea about how the quilt would look and what I needed to do to get there. Tonight I felt I had enough pieces to begin transitioning from cutting to planning the layout. I looked at the blank canvas before me, a piece of red on red print, and picked up the a couple of pieces when I stopped and took a step back. I stopped because what I had before me didn’t look or feel like my vision.

Changing course for me is not always easy, but I decided this was the moment to take the leap. I picked up other pieces and began to lay out the quilt top. Once I started it seemed to flow. The placement of one set of pieces flowed to the next phase of the design. I found that auditioning pieces was working with bot the design of the piece and being in alignment body, mind, and soul.

It got me thinking about other times in my life when I should be auditioning components of my experiences. How many times throughout the day would auditioning options give me freedom or make decision making more in line with my beliefs and values? Expanding options would provide me with an ease I haven’t been able to experience often.

Giving myself the gift of auditioning will make my artwork grow. It will keep me thinking that big question, “What if?” I like the idea of living in the “What if” world. I believe it will increase flow in all areas of my life.

img_2791What would you like to audition in your life?

 

 

Leave a Reply

