Winter Feast for the Soul 2017: Day 29 Experimentation

There are times in our lives when we try things that are supposed to be good for us. We try fad diets, adult coloring books, drink green tea, and learn to slam poetry as a way to express us. I believe that when we experiment we step outside the lines. We expand our horizons. Moving out of our comfort zone has it’s perks and obviously is not without its fears.

Today I started playing with stitches on my new sewing machine. The machine has 350 built-in stitches so I have a lot of options. What I find interesting while trying these new stitches is they evoke different feelings. They create moods. They accentuate and punctuate aspects of my art.

img_2829

I don’t like change. If you know me, or come to know me, you’ll see that I dig my heels in when change makes its presence known. I’m using the sewing machine and my art as way to ease into the realm of experimentation. I figure, if I can do it in my art, I can transfer that action to the real world.

Don’t get me wrong; I’m a risk taker. When I moved to California from New Jersey, I got on a plane one hot August evening with two boxes and a suitcase. I relocated 3000 miles to go to school. I didn’t know anyone in California, didn’t have a job, and didn’t have a place to live. This is an example of ultimate experimentation. Of course, I was thirty years younger than I am currently. You’d think experimentation gets easier with life experience, but I haven’t found that to be the case.

I’ve allowed my meditation to be a place of experimentation. I can experiment in thought and feeling allowing me to explore what frightens me, excites me, and challenges me. During these quiet and thoughtful times I’m able to go beyond my self-imposed limits. I’m able to experiment with the “what if” questions. I can live in the space of “as if” and I have permission and freedom to be and do anything I choose.

Meditation is like being a “life” mad scientist. I can be as sane or weird as I choose. I can explore the most conservative and insane ideas. I can dream and then land in my body. Experimentation in my meditation world is life affirming!

Leave a Reply

