Winter Feast for the Soul 2017: Day 30 Power of Observation

Stand back! Take a good luck at what’s in front of you, what do you see? I don’t mean just what do you see visually, but what do you observe. When we observe we use multiple senses to develop the story of our experience. We weave cues from each of our senses to create a story that is truthful and authentic to our experience.

In turn, following our observations, we often use avenues of self-expression to share our experience. If you look back at various blog posts I’ve written over the years I always refer to artists as cultural anthropologists and the truth keepers. When we express our opinions, share our experiences, and thus contribute to humanity our lives become richer and the quilt of our culture becomes more defined.

I was watching the Grammy Awards last night and Jennifer Lopez started with the following quote from Toni Morrison, “There is no time for despair, no place for self-pity, no need for fear. We speak, we write, we do language. That is how civilizations heal.” I’ve been thinking a lot about healing civilization because so much of our current experiences are rooted in anger and fear.

The power of observation gives power to our voices. It makes our existence necessary. I feel aligned when I’m observing. I catch subtle nuances of behavior, action, and intention. To some, it may seem that observing is passive, when in fact it’s quite active. It’s active because there is a cause and effect relationship. We observe and then we need to do something with those observations. I tend to bring my observations to my meditation and allow them to bloom.

I use my observations as inspiration for my art. Observation is a catalyst for my voice. It allows me to get clear because I’m rooted in my observations. I take my observations and give them the space they need to speak their own language. My observations have a life of their own and they take me on a journey. I convert the journey initiated by my observations and give them voice in my art.

What have you observed most recently? Where does it sit in your body, your mind, and your soul? Do you think it’s a powerful tool?

Leave a Reply

