Here’s to the Next 40: Day 18: Waiting for Divine Presence

There are times when I watch a television program and there is one thing, one small thread catching my attention. Recently, I finished watching “ Sex Education” on Netflix.  It’s has four seasons and takes place in an English prep high school.  One of the characters, Eric, is a black, African, gay youth.  

During one of the storylines, Eric begins interacting with this woman.  In one episode, she’s a homeless woman, and almost commands him to show her where the soup kitchen is where his mother is volunteering.  No surprise, Eric stays and helps beginning to experience tingly sensations about doing good and giving back.

Another has this “woman” take his phone from him and he chases her through the woods.  She becomes a Divine presence giving him instructions.  Of course, Eric is dazed and confused, but gets him thinking.

In the finale, Eric is supposed to be baptized.  When it’s his turn he tells the congregation he needs to speak his truth.  He tells them he’s Christian and gay.  He asks for acceptance and the only person who rises to accept him is his mother.  The pastor even refuses fundraising money because the church doesn’t agree with the philosophy of those in the school.

After he leaves the church, Eric is out near a bluff and the Divine woman shows up.  She tells him to give in to what he already knows, he’s a person of God and is full of light.  She tells him she’s with him every step of the way on this Divine journey.  He then tells his best friend he’s decided to become a pastor.

I want one of those moments.  I sit on the cushion like Jane Hirschfeld told me to and am waiting to see who visits.  I think I’ve been waiting for one of these Divine moments.  I don’t think I need it or know I would do with the experience if it happened.  But there is a yearning.

As I sit in my studio/Creativity zendo, I meditate on the idea of a conversation with the Divine.  What I get is self-talk which I know in my heart IS my conversation with the Divine.

I’ll keep the conversation going!

For art and prompts, I’ve posted over 1,100 collages, follow me on

Instagram/Threads: @drfiber