Here’s to the Next 40: Day 30: Was I Not Paying Attention?

Well, deep sigh.  I was working on my sewing machine.  I find peace when I’m at the sewing machine.  The pieces I’m sewing are not art quilts.  These pieces are utilitarian quilts.  The ones we have all around the house.  I live in cold weather and during the winter there is nothing better than a quilt.

I often split the quilting into phases.  I had just attached the second phase of the quilt.  I began quilting and the stitch wasn’t as crisp as I anticipated.  I decided I would clean the bobbin case (the part of the machine housing the thread for the bottom side of the quilt).  I finished my cleaning, put the machine back together and began to sew.   

This is the part of the story where expletives probably erupted from my mouth.  Is it possible to be “too” in the moment.  The needle came down and broke.  On further inspection, I noticed a piece of the bobbin case was bent. 

Fortunately, I have multiple machines so I can still quilt.  I won’t be able to work on this quilt, but the act of sewing can still proceed.  It’s a mix of frustration, disappointment, and feeling like an idiot.  How did I not put the piece back in correctly?  I do this process multiple times a week for years and have never had this happen.  Where was I?  Was I rushing?  

I’m not sure where I went off course, but I have a great sewing machine dealer.  I’ve been working with her for twenty plus years.  It will all be okay.  Isn’t that the happy ending?  All will be okay?  I guess this is something I need to remember more often.  In hard times, somehow things will work out.  It may not be as good as before, but I’ll find peace.  It’s like when I work with individuals with chronic or life-threatening illness.  They may not get well, but there’s always a way to get better.  It may not be physically, but emotionally or spiritually.  There’s always a path.

For art and prompts, I’ve posted over 1,100 collages, follow me on

Instagram/Threads: @drfiber 

Leave a comment